Thursday, 27 August 2015

APC Appoints El-Rufai To Conduct Governorship Primaries

The Kaduna state governor, Mallam Nasir el-Rufai has been chosen by the All Progressives Congress (APC) to head a 7-man committee that will oversee the conduct of the party’s primary election slated for August 29 ahead of the forthcoming Kogi state governorship poll on November 21.
Other members of the committee are Senator Magnus Abbe, who will serve as secretary, Alhaji Ibrahim Sarki, Mrs. Omorge Osifor, ‎Mr. Mohammad Wali, Mr. Lanre Asiwaju and Mr. Greg Egwu will serve as members, Leadership reports.

The committee was inaugurated yesterday, August 26, at the party’s national secretariat in Abuja.

According to the APC deputy national chairman (North), Senator Lawan Shu’aibu, the party carefully chose the members of the committee to do the job given their credibility.

Speaking at the inauguration, the APC national organising secretary, Senator Osita Izunaso, charged members of the committee to take the assignment seriously.

He said: “You should hold a stakeholders meeting first and introduce yourselves as those who are called for this assignment. The party also request that you should reach out to security agencies in Kogi State upon arrival, the SSS, the Police and other security agencies, so that they won’t say they were not informed.”

He added that there was nothing like endorsed candidate as it is the people there that will decide through their votes.

Governorship election did not hold in Kogi state during the last general elections following the nullification of previous polls by the court and conduct of fresh ones in the state.

The Independent National Electoral Commission has scheduled Saturday, November 21 for the election and campaigns by political parties shall commence on 24th July and end on 19th November.

No fewer than 22 members of the APC (both new entrants and old members) are said to have indicated their interest to fly the party’s flag for the election.