Thursday, 3 September 2015

PDP CRISIS: Nwoye, 8 others face expulsion

Suspended members of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, in Anambra State, Mr. Tony Nwoye and eight others may be expelled from the party should they fail to appear before the disciplinary committee set up to investigate alleged anti-party activities against them.
Other suspended members included Prince Ossy Ezenwa, Basil Ejidike, Ejike Oguebego, Mrs. Jessy Balonwu, Kenneth Arinze, Hon. Uche Ogbonna, Chuks Okoye and Tony Akachukwu.

Chairman of the party in the state, Chief Ken Emeakayi, in an exclusive interview, told  Chat212 that suspended members who were found guilty in line with the party constitution, chapter 10, section 58 (1) could still be forgiven if they showed remorse of the offence they allegedly committed, either orally or in writing to the disciplinary committee.

He said it was in compliance with the provisions of the PDP constitution 2012 (as amended) that Nwoye and his group called Equity Forum, were suspended for declaring a parallel state Exco when the party had successfully organized a congress at all levels in the state as directed by the national secretariat.

According to Emeakayi, Nwoye never indicated interest that he was contesting for any position in the last state congresses of the party, only for him to gather his group at Emmaus House, Awka, to declare themselves the leader, the state chairman, secretary, woman leader, among other positions, contrary to the PDP constitution.

Besides, Emeakayi said Nwoye had on Saturday, July 28, 2015, addressed a press conference where he castigated and mocked the national officers of the party, including the national publicity secretary, Mr. Olisa Metuh.

He said the party was currently in the process of restructuring and re-positioning with the aim of taking over the government of Anambra State from the All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA.

He said the reformation of the party was not only going on at the state, local government and ward levels, but at the national level under the committee headed by Senator Ike Ekweremadu.