Thursday, 29 October 2015

Election Petition Tribunal Sacks APC Lawmaker

The national and state assembly elections petition tribunal in Nasarawa has nullified the election of Abubakar Sarki Dahiru of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in the April 11 re-run election in Lafia/Obi federal constituency.

The tribunal declared Rep. Joseph Haruna Kigbu of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) as winner of the poll, Daily Trust reports.

The judgement was delivered on the night of Wednesday, October 28 in Lafia, the state capital.

The Independent National Elections Commission (INEC) had declared Dahiru winner of a re-run organised on April 18 after the commission cancelled results in Ciroma Ward of Lafia on grounds that the exercise was marred by irregularities including violence.

In its ruling, the tribunal said the INEC’s allegations of irregularities in just one out of the three elections that were held at the same time were criminal in nature.

The tribunal therefore annulled the April 18 re-run conducted by the INEC.

In the past three days election petition tribunals have decided three cases in states across the country. This morning, the Supreme Court upheld the election that brought Governor Rochas Okorocha of Imo state to power.

Yesterday, Abel Peter Diah, the speaker of the Taraba state House of Assembly was dismissed by the election petition tribunal sitting in Jalingo, the state capital.

Two days ago, the election tribunal in Oyo state upheld the election of Governor Abiola Ajimobi, dismissing the petition filed by Senator Rashidi Ladoja, the governorship candidate of Accord Party.