Thursday, 15 October 2015

Ministerial Screening: Senate Postpones Screening Till Tuesday

Ministerial Screening

The Senate has postponed screening of ministerial nominees till early next week.

Part of a tweet by the official handle of the 8th Assembly said “there will be no ministerial screening today. We will continue on Tuesday”.

At the end of Day 2 of the screening and confirmation at the national assembly, only eight out of the 10 ministerial nominees were screened.

While one nominee was dropped by the presidency, the other, the former governor of Rivers State Chibuike Amaechi, was rescheduled for early next week.

All 18 nominees, who appeared before the Senate, have been cleared for ministerial appointments by President Muhammadu Buhari.

They include Udoma Udo Udoma, Dr. John Kayode Fayemi, Audu Ogbe, Christopher Ogbonnaya Onu, Dr. Osagie Ehanire, Lt.Gen. Abdulrahman Danbazzau (Rtd), Alhaji Lai Mohammed, Amina Mohammed, Ibrahim Jubril, Babatunde Fashola, Aisha Alhassan.

Others are Senator Hadi Sirika, Solomon Dalong, Ibe Kachukwu, Kemi Adeosun, Abubakar Malami, Engineer Suleiman Adamu and Dr. Chris Ngige.

At the end of plenary on Wednesday, Senate President, Dr. Bukola Saraki read out the names of the nominees, who had fielded questions from the lawmakers.