Thursday, 22 October 2015

President Buhari Writes To Senate On INEC Chairman

On Thursday, October 22, the Nigerian Senate received a letter from President Muhammadu Buhari, seeking confirmation of the appointment of the chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) and its commissioners.

Leadership reports that in the letter Buhari asked the Senate to confirm Professor Mahmud Yakubu as the chairman of the commission, Amina Zakari, Anthonia Okosi, Baba Shettima, Muhammadu Lekki and Soyebi Solomon as new commissioners.

The Senate has also received two petitions against Aisha Ibrahim, a ministerial nominee from Sokoto state, requesting to replace her with a more competent candidate.

READ ALSO: Top 13 Facts You Should Know About The New INEC Chairman

According to The News Agency of Nigeria, the Senate Committee of Ethics and Privileges had earlier thrown out a petition against her “for improper address.” The committee had said that the petition was addressed to Buhari and not the Senate President, as such it would be improper to act on it.

The president confirmed Yakubu’s appointment on Wednesday, October 21, during the emergency Council of State meeting.

Meanwhile, acting chairman of the electoral body, Amina Zakari, will now be the INEC commissioner representing the North-West alongside four other commissioners.