Friday, 9 October 2015

Tribunal Sacks PDP Lawmaker, Orders Re-run

The position of a lawmaker in the House of Representatives, Prince Segun Adekoya, has been declared invalid today, October 9, by the National and state Assembly elections petition tribunal sitting in Abeokuta, the Ogun state capital.

The ruling All Progressives Congress had filed a petition before the Justice Ebiowei Tobi-led tribunal challenging the declaration of the lawmaker as the winner of the March 28 National Assembly election by the Independent National Electoral Commission, The Nation reports.

Adekoya whose election currently stands nullified had contested on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party.

The tribunal held that the elections in the affected areas of Ijebu North, Ijebu East and Ogun Waterside federal constituency were marred by irregularities and malpractices.

However, in a separate case before the nullification, Adekoya had been taken to a state high court sitting at Ijebu–Ode by a fellow party member, Tele Ogunjobi, who had also aspired to run for the seat of the Ogun Waterside, Ijebu North and Ijebu East federal constituency in the last NASS poll.

In that case, Ogunjobi who is a former chairman of Ijebu North local government council in a motion filed by his lawyers, Ayo Alagbe and T. M Otayemi, before Justice S.A Olugbemi in Ijebu – Ode, had claimed that he won the PDP primary election held at the Ogbere town hall last December 6 having scored 33 votes while Adekoya polled 32 votes.

The former chairman had also dragged to court along with the PDP lawmaker, the Ogun state PDP and the state chairman, Adebayo Dayo, alleging that they snatched the mandate given to him during the primary election which he won and gave it to Adekoya whose election has now been nullified.

The three man tribunal headed by Justice Ebiowei Tobi ordered a re–run election in 122 polling units in Ijebu North, Ijebu East and Ogun Waterside federal constituency.

Meanwhile, the tribunal has also cancelled the election of a member of the Senate, Senator Buruji Kasahamu.