Monday, 23 November 2015

President Buhari Factor Cannot Save Any APC Candidate - PDP Chieftain

Ahead of the local government election in Jigawa state next year February, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has expressed optimism of reclaiming the state.

This was disclosed in an address to newsmen by a PDP party chieftain and former commissioner of information in the state, Alhaji Babandi Ibrahim.

Reacting to his party’s readiness to face the election, Ibrahim said that the era of the President Buhari factor was over as the people of Jigawa have now tested the two parties and will judge based on the performance of each party in the state, Leadership reports.

Ibrahim noted that PDP would field candidates for all elective positions, adding that the party has confidence of winning 90% of all contested positions in the election.

He said: “During the last elections, APC government succeeded in winning the gubernatorial and some legislative seats in the state just due to the Buhari factor which is no longer in existence now.

“So, the people of Jigawa state have now tested the two parties and I’m sure they will judge based on the performance of each party in the state; as I tell you now, there is no more Buhari factor that would save any candidate.

“The people of Jigawa state are currently regretting voting for APC in the last general election, the party and its leaders have disappointed them as they have nothing to show as a dividend of democracy in the last six months.”

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Jigawa state, announced Alhaji Abubakar Muhammad Badaru as the winner of the 2015 gubernatorial election.

Declaring the result, the Returning Officer, Professor James Ayatse said the APC governorship candidate scored a total 648,045 votes defeating his PDP opponent, Malam Aminu Ringim who scored a total 479, 447 votes.

Eleven members of the Jigawa state House of Representatives and 25 members of the PDP in the state assembly lost their seats at the state and federal chambers, as APC won in 20 local government out of the 27 LGA’s of the state.