Monday, 9 November 2015

President Buhari Inaugurates INEC Chairman, 5 Commissioners

Muhammadu Buhari has inaugurated the new chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Professor Mahmood Yakubu and five national commissioners on November 9, Monday.

The president has tasked the new helmsmen of the commission to make the conduct of free, fair and credible elections in the country their priority, emphasizing that they can’t afford to fail Nigerians in future polls.

The national commissioners include Amina Zakari, Solomon Adedeji Soyebi, Prof. Antonia Taiye Okoosi-Simbine, Muhammed Mustafa Lecky and Alhaji Baba Shettima Arfo.

President Buhari stated that it’s not enough for election tribunals to just cancel or order fresh elections.

Nigerian leader said: “Another area of concern is the justice administration of the election tribunals. It is long overdue that our justice system addresses these shortcomings. It is not just enough for an election to be cancelled and a new one ordered.

 “It would be much better if all whose actions or inactions led to the cancellation of such election to be investigated and if culpable prosecuted whether they are individuals as candidates or party agents, Institutions such as political party, electoral body, or public officers as electoral staff or security agents.

 “Similarly, perpetrators of electoral violence and thuggery should not be spared. Unless our system stops covering up all forms of electoral malpractices we can hardly get it right. No system endures with impunity.”

President Buhari will swear in the 36 ministers-designate and administer oaths of office on them on Novemver 11.

The president will also same day officially inaugurate a new Federal Executive Council.