Monday, 7 December 2015

(UPDATE) INEC Announces Bayelsa Election Result, PDP’s Dickson Coasting To Victory

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) started the official announcement of the Bayelsa state governorship election results in the evening of Sunday, December 6 and have continued with the announcement this morning.

The APC agent at the collation centre is contesting the result as collated by the INEC official from Nembe LG. Presently, only results from Southern Ijaw LG are being expected.

13:00 Nembe local government: PDP-10,768, APC-6,974, PDM-76

Right now, the APC has 65,620 (41%), while the PDP is dominating with 94,980 (59%).

11:11 can report that results from Nembe and Southern Ijaw are being awaited as they are yet to reach the collation centre as at the time of filing this report.

10:49 Ogbia LG result: ACPN: 15, ADC: 19, APA: 72, APC: 9,106, APGA: 12, CPP: 10, CPC: 20, DPP: 32, ID: 05, KOWA: 01, LP: 14, MPPP: 01, NNPP: 02, PDC: 16, PDM: 86, PDP: 13051, PPA: 12, PPM: 01, SDP: 00, UPP: 03
Total valid votes: 22, 478, Rejected votes: 880, Total votes cast: 23358.

10:47 The collation has begun with a national anthem.

10:31 Press men, local and international observers, party agents, NGOs are seated, awaiting the arrival of the REC.

10:29 correspondent on ground at the collation centre reports that the INEC officials have started arriving while the premises of the election result announcement is being heavily surrounded by armed security personnel.

21:00 Collation and announcement of the suspended till 10am Monday, December 7. Five out of eight LGAs have already presented the results:

20:49 A total number of 13,910 registered voters were affected by the cancellation.

20:30 Ekeremor LGA (12 wards) is next. The collation officer is Dr Johnson Dagama.

APC – 7,918
PDP – 14,602.

Registered voters – 82,783; accredited voters – 24,667.

Total valid votes – 22,664; rejected votes – 634; total votes cast – 23,298.

There were cancellation of votes in eight wards due to snatching of ballot boxes and other irregularities.
20:26 Yenagoa figures were corrected and are being read again. The returning officer from Brass LGAs is also reading a correction.

20:15 Four LGAs have announced their results so far:

PDP – 58% (67,327)
APC – 42% (48,596).

20:03 Brass LGA (10 wards):

APC – 21,755
PDP – 6,516.

Registered voters – 55,923. Accredited voters – 30,397.

Total valid votes – 28,616; rejected votes – 592; total votes cast – 29,208.

There were over voting in six polling units in Brass, with total number of 1,983 registered voters.

20:01 The chief returning officer tells Mr Dennis Otiotio that the issue of irregularities in Sagbama LGA will be documented.

19:45 The APC agent takes the microphone, talks about multiple irregularities, including episodes of manual accreditation, ends his speech uninterrupted.

19:36 Sagbama LGA:
APC – 5,382
PDP – 28,934.

Total valid votes – 34,921; rejected votes – 726; total votes cast – 35,647. Cancellations in six polling units (ward 7).

19:32 APC agent disagrees with Yenagoa results.

19:22 Update on Yenagoa:

Valid votes – 40,041, total votes cast – 41,751. Cancellations in 16 polling units due to violence.

19:15 Yenagoa LGA:
APC – 14,563
PDP – 24,258

19:10 Kolokuma/Opokuma LGA:
APC – 6,896
PDP – 7,619

18:55 Recognition of the INEC officials at the collation centre is underway.

18:53 INEC officials at the collation centre in Yenagoa are reading the national anthem. The returning officers are set to announce results of at least three local government areas.