Thursday, 29 September 2016

BREAKING: Godwin Obaseki of the APC has been declared WINNER

BREAKING: Godwin Obaseki wins Edo election

Godwin Obaseki of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has been declared the governor elect of Edo state, following the conclusion of electoral proceedings.

Nineteen candidates vied for the ticket to the Government House, however, the main contest was seen between Godwin Obaseki of the APC and Andrew Ize-Iyamu of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) There was a heightened sense of suspense in Benin, even as final analysis of collations for the Edo election was ongoing. READ ALSO: Edo Decides: How Oshiomhole, Obaseki, Ize-Iyamu voted (photos) After collation from 17 local governments, a final report from Ovia South West showed that the APC had 12,820 votes while the PDP had 8810, bringing the sum total of votes to 319, 483 and  253173 respectively.