Monday, 16 November 2015

Breaking News: Buhari To Announce 14 Special Advisers

President Muhammadu Buhari is set to name his remaining 14 special advisers.

Daily Post reports that the president, who recently inaugurated his cabinet with the announcement of 36 ministers, has 14 names already.

On June 3 President Buhari received the Senate’s go ahead to appoint 15 special advisers for his administration. He has, however, appointed just one, Femi Adesina, the special adviser to the president on media and publicity.

Buhari on June 2 in a letter addressed to the then Senate president, Senator David Mark, said his request to appoint 15 special advisers was in accordance with the Section 151 (1) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, (as amended).

“I write to request for your kind consideration and approval of the distinguished members of the Senate of the Federal Republic to appoint 15 special advisers as prescribed in Section 151(2-3) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (as amended). “While trusting that this exercise will receive the traditional prompt attention of the Senate, please accept, Mr. President, the assurance of my highest consideration.”

Meanwhile, opinion leaders and socio-political associations in the southeast are angry with President Muhammadu Buhari over the designated portfolios assigned to ministers. According to them, the president intentionally denied the southeast ‘juicy’ ministries.